La Compagnie est missionnaire

C. 25a La Compagnie est missionnaire par nature, elle s’efforce de garder la souplesse et la mobilité nécessaires pour répondre aux demandes de l’Église face à toutes les formes de pauvreté.

soeurs-2Le 28 septembre 1964, soeur Midon quittait sa mission de directrice du séminaire, mission qu’elle assurait depuis 23 ans. Voici les paroles toujours actuelles, qu’elle confiait aux jeunes sœurs du séminaire, le jour de son départ. C’est une belle invitation à l’Espérance ! Une vie qui se donne et qui ouvre à d’autres la perspective du don.

« Le Bon Dieu demande qu’on lui donne avec joie. Continuez donc d’aimer ce qu’il a aimé. Vous commencez votre vie et moi je l’achève, eh bien ! Je puis vous dire, en toute vérité, que jamais le Bon Dieu ne trompera votre attente et que la parole de notre Seigneur dans l’Evangile : « Qu’il te soit fait comme tu as cru », est vraie et se réalise. Toujours L’Esprit Saint est là comme l’âme de notre âme. Quand vous vous donnez au Bon Dieu et que vous entrez dans la famille de Saint Vincent, on peut vous dire, avec la force de l’expérience, en toute vérité, que l’Esprit Saint ne manque jamais. Il vous couvre de son ombre, de même qu’Il a couvert la Sainte Vierge au jour de l’Annonciation. Votre apostolat de demain se fera en fonction de votre préparation d’aujourd’hui. Vivez donc toujours sous cette ombre de l’Esprit Saint. Ayez le soin d’ajuster toujours votre volonté à la Volonté de Dieu et c’est comme cela que le Bon Dieu bénira votre Séminaire et que vous pourrez comprendre les enseignements qui vous sont donnés.

jacuzzi-srp1Dans la mesure de votre obéissance, de votre humilité, de la soumission de votre esprit et si vous travaillez à cela, ce sera la lumière et la force. Vous êtes dans un monde qui ne croit pas. Vous devez donc être pour ce monde la petite télévision de Dieu. J’aime à vous citer la belle oraison des Martyres d’Arras : « Seigneur, faites que nous soyons si bien ancrées dans votre amour que jamais rien ne puisse nous séparer de Vous ». Pour vous, c’est ce qu’il faut faire : travailler à vous ancrer dans son amour, parce qu’alors rien ne vous sera difficile.

The Company Is Missionary

C. 25a The Company is missionary by nature; it strives to retain the flexibility and mobility needed to respond to the calls of the Church in the face of every form of poverty.


On September 28, 1964, Sister Midon left her mission as Directrice of the Seminary, a mission she held for 23 years. Here are her actual words which she confided to the young Sisters of the Seminary the day she left. Such a wonderful invitation to Hope! A life which gives and opens to others the prospect of giving.

“The good God asks that we give to Him with joy. Continue to love those whom he loves. You are beginning your lives and I am coming to the end of mine. Oh, well! I can tell you in all sincerity that the good God never betrays your hopes and that the words of our Lord in the Gospel, “let it be done for you as you have believed” are true and real. The Holy Spirit is always there as the soul of your soul. When you give yourself to the good God and you enter into the family of Saint Vincent, one could say, with the force of experience and in all truth, that the Holy Spirit never fails. He will overshadow you, just as he overshadowed the Holy Virgin on the day of the Annunciation. Your apostolate of tomorrow is done because of your preparation today. So always live under the shadow of the Holy Spirit. Take care to always conform your will to the Will of God and it is thus that the good God will bless your Seminary and help you to understand all the instructions that you are given

In the extent of your obedience, your humility, your submission of your spirit and if you work at that, it will be your light and a strength. You are in a world that doesn’t believe. You must be a little television of God for the world. I like to cite you the beautiful prayer of the Martyrs of Arras, “Lord, grant that we are so entrenched in your work as to anchor yourself in his love, because then nothing will be difficult.”

jacuzzi-srp1I tell you again, you must be like a little television of Jesus. The world needs this, it needs Christ, to see to believe. It needs Saints. The good Lord calls you to be a saint and it is that saint that you have already started to become. The world must see humility, obedience, the charity of Jesus towards us. As I often say, it is not what we say and what we do but because of who we are and what we do well. Saint Vincent always had the Son of God before his eyes, ah, good. Do that! You must never lose sight of Jesus. Respond with the one who is full of the Spirit of Love, the Blessed Virgin. Ask her to be well anchored in the Spirit of Love.